Sambuco Arte Sacra Deruta Avvento Tempo liturgico violahe liturgical season consists of different periods that mark the flow: while the calendar year begins with the first day of the year, then on January 1st, the liturgical year starts with the first Sunday of Advent, usually on November 30th. Advent time is a period of four weeks (six in the Ambrosian Rite) which each year opens the cycle of celebrations of the mystery of Christ. It is a time of spiritual preparation for Christmas, a time of waiting and prayer. The dominant liturgical color is the violet although during the third week called in Gaudete, the rosaceous color can be used.1


Sambuco Arte Sacra Deruta Natale Tempo liturgico biancoWith the Time of Christmas we commemorate the apparition in the world of the Son of God, Jesus, incarnation of the Logos. In this time of reflection, the focus is on God who became man, of the God who became a child and came to the aid of humanity. The theme of solidarity thus becomes central, mutual help between men and the profound sense of charity become the guidelines to be followed. Particular attention is paid to the last, to those who still live in poverty today, like Jesus, who was born in a manger. Christmas time begins with Vespers on December 24th; after Christmas we celebrate the Holy Family and also remember the first martyr, St. Stephen, December 26th, St. John the Evangelist, 27th, and the innocent saints, 28th; the first day of the year is dedicated to Mary, Mother of God; this liturgical season ends with the Baptism of the Lord, the first Sunday after the Epiphany. The dominant liturgical color in this period is white.2


Sambuco Arte Sacra Deruta Tempo ordinario Tempo liturgico verdeThe time defined as Ordinary or “Time per Annum” begins with the presentation of the Lord to the Temple. This time is dedicated to the “journey” of the Church in the daily life. With the Church the Christian lets himself be led by the word of God to give a deep meaning to the ordinary realities of work, of the family, of social commitment. Supported by the Holy Spirit, he will conform his life to that of Christ; with him he will give himself to the Father day by day until the landing in the kingdom of heaven where Jesus has preceded us and invites us to the banquet of his wedding. But to achieve all this it takes perseverance, holiness of life and never having lost sight of the ultimate goal. The Spirit supports, verifies and encourages. The dominant liturgical color in this period is green.3


Sambuco Arte Sacra Deruta Quaresima Tempo liturgico violaThe time of Lent is the liturgical period that consists of 6 weeks that wants to prepare the faithful for Easter, the heart of the whole liturgical year and the synthesis of all the mysteries of salvation. The 40 days that mark this juncture, remember the 40 days that Jesus spent in the desert: a time of trial, as well as prayer, verification and abstinence, in short, an ideal time for an examination of conscience on their Christian life. This fundamental liturgical season begins with Ash Wednesday and ends before Holy Thursday Mass, called in Coena Domini. The sixth Sunday of Lent is called the Palms. Also in this period it is used the violet color but in the fourth one said Sunday in Laetare, one can use the rosaceous color.4


The Easter Triduum represents the peak of the liturgical year, in the redeeming work of the passion, death and resurrection of Christ. These three days, really intense in community life, are the protagonists of the liturgical colors of white for Thursday and for the Easter Vigil while the red for Friday.5


To fully understand the mystery of the passion, death andSambuco Arte Sacra Deruta Pentecoste Tempo liturgico rosso resurrection of Christ, the Church dedicates a period of 50 days between Easter and Pentecost. Easter time begins with Easter Sunday, which commemorates the entry of Jesus into Jerusalem, the acclaimed son of David, and ends with Pentecost Sunday, after the Ascension of the Lord to heaven, when the Apostles gathered in the upper room descended the Holy Spirit. The days after the Ascension, until the Saturday before Pentecost, prepare the coming of the Holy Spirit and in many communities the Pentecost Vigil, between Saturday and Sunday, becomes an important occasion in this sense. In Easter time the liturgical color is white, but on Whit Sunday the red is used.6


The second part of the Ordinary time begins after Pentecost Sunday and ends Sunday dedicated to Christ the King of the Universe. In this period the Church listens to Jesus Master.7


1  Source: http://www.pozzodigiacobbe.it/
2  Source: http://www.vicariatusurbis.org/
3  Source: http://www.elledici.org/
4  Source: http://www.pozzodigiacobbe.it/
5  Source: http://www.vicariatusurbis.org/
6  Source: http://www.vicariatusurbis.org/
7  Source: http://www.pozzodigiacobbe.it/